The History of Bagni Tiberio
The history of Bagni Tiberio goes back over two millennia when the Emperor Tiberius built his Palazzo a Mare along this cove, just one of twelve imperial villas scattered across the island of Capri. In the 19th century, European gentry and artists on the Grand Tour would also stop here to paint the picturesque Roman ruins.
At the beginning of the 1900s, Giuseppe e Lucia De Martino established a small beachfront restaurant with a small coal oven here, officially founding their business in 1926.
Over the following decade, they began to transport guests to the beach from Marina Grande on board a gozzo rowboat, opening a beach club after WWII with the arrival of tourists from German and the US.
Today, Bagni Tiberio is run by the same family, famous on the island for their friendly hospitality!